Meet The Instagram-Worthy Bag I Found At The Thrift Shop

Just because I shop purposefully doesn’t mean that I don’t follow fashion trends. So many people think that shopping secondhand is all about finding out-of-date styles that no one wants anymore. I’m here to prove that theory wrong, my friends.

I love to flip through magazines and scroll through Instagram to see what everyone is wearing. It’s where I get a lot of my inspiration for thrifting. The straw bag has been all over the place lately. You know, the bag that is typically a clutch and looks like it was made out of wicker. They go with everything and give off the perfect summer vibes.

When I looked up the price of these bags, I was blown away. They went for anywhere from $39 to $200-ish. Naturally, I made it my mission to find one for way less and make sure it went along with my purposeful shopping habits. I looked at tons of online boutiques, but eventually found the perfect one at my local Goodwill.

I found this little beauty hanging right beside a fake Coach bag and a tote that looked like the free ones that you get when you spend a million or so dollars at Victoria’s Secret. Believe it or not, I didn’t buy it right away. It had a pink tag that said $5 on it, but I knew that I could do better. So, like the professional thrifter that I am, I waited for pink tag day and got the bag for $2.50.

If you’ve been following along with my for awhile, you’ll know that I love my pins. Although this one wasn’t thrifted, I thought it amped up the trendiness of the bag even more. It’s from Bando, and I’m obsessed. You might have seen it on my Instagram too. The phrase spreads positivity and was perfect for my pink-themed blog.

The bag holds quite a lot too. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting for i to be so practical. On top of my wallet, I’ve been carrying around sunglasses, multiple lip colors, and even a light jacket inside. It’s not the most heavy-duty material, but, seeing as I got it for $2.50, I’m not complaining. It’s true that you get what you pay for, but that doesn’t make this any less of a summer staple.

Another major bonus is that it goes with everything β€” at least everything in my closet. Whether I’m wearing black, white, or grey [my three go-tos], it’s easy to throw this on and walk out the door. I love fall fashion, so I find that some of my outfits can look a little cold-weather. As soon as Β put this bag on, the look is transformed for summer.

I’m not always ready to hop on the latest trends, but this one was too good to pass up. I don’t want you to think it was easy though. It took multiple trips to multiple thrift stores to find this bag. Keep searching and you’ll find exactly what you’re looking for too!

xx.

100 Comments

  1. Absolutely Olivia

    Honestly, that bag is cuter than any other straw bag I’ve seen!! I love thrifting but have never thought to look for bags. Also, I love the pin it really adds something special to the bag πŸ™‚

    1. Kali Borovic

      I’m so glad you like it, Gillian! My best advice is to just forget everything you think you know and treat it like any other shop! I’m actually coming out with a thrifting starter guide very soon, so stay tuned! xx.

  2. Mia

    It’s always great to shop at unexpected places like Goodwill or consignment shops! I bought my basket tote while in Spain, it was only 12€. Much more affordable than designer bags!

  3. Claire - Heart Handmade UK

    omg I love the bag and I love the pin! I love going hoking through my mums boxes of old clothes etc and pinched 2 rather fabulous wicker bags :p then she asked where I got it because it looked familiar…. “aaaaaaaahhhhhh… what’s that now?” that’s my answer for “yes, yes I did steal it from you and thank you kindly” lol. She always laughs

  4. ayrgalaxy

    Great price for a great bag! I’ve missed so many opportunities on getting cheaper high-end bags because I thought to myself “I’ll wait for them to get marked down” but they always get bought 😦 LOL
    Maybe it depends on the thrift store, lol. But nicely done! You’re definitely the #ThriftQueen

Leave a Reply

