This Romper’s Made Out Of Recycled Fabric, But You’d Never Guess

Seven months ago, my favorite place to shop was Target. It’s like stepping into a magical world where you can find every single thing you need — and a few you don’t. I have nothing against Target, because drinking coffee while you shop is just plain genius. But I have learned a lot about the fashion industry and fallen in love with purposeful shopping.

I realize that I was so excited in my 1K celebration post that I didn’t even talk about the romper. It definitely deserves its own post. The cheeky little one-piece is from AOUI. The brand is made in Los Angeles and uses recycled high-quality fabrics for every single one of their items. According to their website, their goal is to maintain a sustainable and affordable line that women love.

Needless to say, I’m obsessed with the LaLa Romper. The brand was nice enough to send me the outfit, and I thought a 1K celebration was the perfect time to show it off to you guys.

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned about purposeful shopping, it’s that investing in quality pieces is key. Yes, a lot of the time you’re spending more, but you’re getting better items. You’re also getting pieces that you can be proud to have in your closet. The way I see it, personal style is an investment if you do it right.

Besides the sustainable fabric and comfortable fit, my favorite part about the LaLa Romper is the back. There’s a peek-a-boo cutout in the back that you can make bigger or smaller with the knot. This also helps to personalize the fit of the romper. Since I’m so short, I really appreciate details like this.

The quality of AOUI’s clothing makes me want to go back again and again. When I used to shop fast fashion, I would never know whether the clothing would last or shrink after the first washing. I’ve worn this romper at least three times now, and it holds up every single time. I’ve noticed that a lot since I switched to more purposeful clothing brands.

The necklace I wore might look familiar to you. I wrote about it in my vintage store haul. It’s definitely a statement piece, but it was the perfect dainty pop of color with the black and white romper. The romper has a super low-cut neckline too, so it helped to have something to fill the gap, if you will.

What do you guys think? I would have never guessed that this was made from recycled fabric, which is partly why I like it so much. It’s like a little purposeful surprise that makes the outfit even better than at first glance. I’d love to hear all about your purposeful shopping experiences in the comments.

xx.

49 Comments

  1. BeaFreitas

    Whatt?! That’s so cool and amazing, I had no idea they did clothing like this. I love the message you send out with purposeful shopping, you’re amazing! Have a lovely day! x

  2. Natalie Vinh

    I love it! And I love the idea of purposeful shopping so much. I went with our costume designer the other day to a local thrift store to get costumes for our upcoming play and I totally thought of you, although the store in my town never has anything like you find!

Leave a Reply

