$15 Daytime Outfit Collab // Thrifted From Head To Toe

A head-to-toe perfectly thrifted outfit is like an equation — at least for me. Mine has to be equal parts trendy, nostalgic, and comfortable. An affordable price isn’t bad, either. This is the exact tactic I used when Caroline from Beyond The Fence said she’d like to do a thrift collab with me.

If you haven’t already met Caroline, you need to check out her blog. She’s a fellow-thrifter, who also talks beauty and life advice. I couldn’t ask for a better blogger to do my second collab with. We decided to hit the thrift shop and put together a day and night outfit for under $15. I’m talking head-to-toe secondhand fun, my friends.

I was in charge of the day outfit — you can click here to see Caroline’s night out outfit. Last time I did a thrift-limit collab, I found a dress for $1 and really splurged on the accessories. This time, I knew I needed to redeem myself and put together an outfit of separates, so that’s exactly what I did. I focused on the pants first, before searching for a fun top.

For me, pants are one of the hardest items to find at the thrift shop. Since the clothing items have been washed and once before, you never truly know what the fit will be until you put them on. That’s one of the reasons I look in all different size sections.

I ended up finding a pair of really thin, cotton jeans by the brand Merona for $4. Because they’re made of such a thin fabric, you can really get away with wearing them in the summer. I also liked how they rolled at the bottom, since I’m so short. Add to that the unconventional pockets, and you have just the right balance of trendy but classic.

I absolutely love this top. Summer is the perfect time to experiment with fun graphic tees, and this one was just what I was looking for. It embodied the season, was classic yet trendy — see the theme yet? — and only $2. That’s a total steal, if you ask me.

The season might be halfway over, but I can definitely see myself getting a lot of use out of this top. Graphic tees are having a huge moment right now. Personally, I just love them because they can make a statement without being too bold with colors or pattern.

I decided to tuck the graphic tank into the pants, since they were just a tad bit big. I also wanted to sow off the detailing on the pockets of the jeans. The top is a bit flowy at the bottom, so it can be worn either way. I’m all about simple designs, so the print is perfect. It’s not too bold, but still making a statement.

Which bring me to the final part of the equation, and my personal favorite part of the entire outfit. Drumroll, please…

The shoes guys. THE SHOES. We need to take [more than] a minute to talk about these babies. Anyone that knows me knows that I love the ’90s. If I could be transported back to the decade, I would. I have been on the hunt for Steve Madden Slides for forever now. Although these aren’t the exact brand from the era, they’re almost identical and just as comfortable.

I hate to say it, but I really did splurge on these. The shoes were $7, but I had to have them. They brought the outfit total up to $13, which made it darn near impossible to find a bag or accessories to go with the outfit.

If I could go back, I would probably find a pair of shoes for cheaper. Like I said, that would allow me to accessorize more. All in all, I would wear this outfit again though. I think that makes it all worth it.

What do you guys think of the outfit? Would you wear it out for brunch in the summer? Let me know in the comment section. Don’t forget to check out Caroline’s post to see what she’d wear for a summer night out!

xx.

62 Comments

Leave a Reply

