Creating My Own Lipstick // Finding Ferdinand Starter Kit 2.0

Remember last week when I said that I think lip palettes might be my new thing? Well, I wasn’t kidding. Except for this time, I found the one of my dreams. Finding Ferdinand’s Starter Kit is the perfect lip palette. I’m not even joking — you couldn’t dream up a better one. If you’re serious about lipsticks, this is the one for you.

Finding Ferdinand’s Starter Kit holds 22 shades that can be just as easily worn on their own as they can be mixed together. The palette comes with two empty pans and a double-sided lip brush and mixer. Add to that the sleek packaging and the huge mirror on the inside, and you can’t ask for much more.

The brand was nice enough to send over a sample before the launch, so that I could review it for Bustle. I ended up loving it so much that I couldn’t help but share it with you guys too. Of course, like always, all opinions are my own. If you end up loving it as much as me, you can buy it for $60 on the Finding Ferdinand website.

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, lip palettes intimidate me. Yes, I’ma  creative person, but mixing the perfect shade can be challenging. Until now, that is. I have never been more excited to experiment than with this palette. I don’t know whether it’s the setup or the shades, but I was very excited to start mixing.

That’s the thing about this palette. You can use these shades just fine on their own. Actually, that’s how I started out. I love the summery pinks and oranges in the kit. Even the purples are pretty wearable. When I started mixing, it came completely natural to me. Who knew?!

Instead of having a bunch of bases that force you to start from scratch, Finding Ferdinand’s allows you pick your favorites and go from there. I always have trouble finding my perfect red, but with three shades and a little bit of stirring, I was able to create my ideal summery tone.

Ready for the best part? Because I saved it for last. After you’re done creating your ideal shade, you can make it — for free! Each palette comes with a code that you can use on their website or their app to make your very own custom lipstick. So not only do you get 22 amazing shades for $60, but you get one of your own as well. I told you it was the perfect palette!

“At Finding Ferdinand, we believe beauty is unique to each and every person and is defined by the customers. This is why we strive to provide customers with the high-quality, customizable products they need to create their own aesthetic,” founder Nhu Le tells me. “Lipstick and beauty in general isn’t one size fits all.”

Between all the time the brand took to get the perfect shades and the amazing color possibilities, you really can’t go wrong with this palette. Finding Ferdinand has other single lipsticks available on the website as well as some blush and shadow palettes. I can’t attest to them, but I will definitely be trying them out.

It sounds almost too good to be true, doesn’t it? Honestly. I can’t find anything that I don’t like about this palette. That could be because I’ve been loving a good creme lipstick lately.

What do you guys think? Will you be giving the brand a chance? A few of you recommended other lip palettes to me in my last post, but I’d love to hear your favorites in the comment section!

xx.

 

36 Comments

Leave a Reply

