The Secret To Successful Blogging // Keeping It Real

When I sat down to write this post, I had my content and pictures already picked out and ready to go. But after writing and deleting, then writing and deleting, then writing and deleting some more, I realized that I didn’t want to be doing it.

We all have those days — especially as creatives. Sometimes the words coming flowing out of me and onto my phone’s note section, my blog journal, or any scrap of paper that I can find. Other times I’m bribing myself with Netflix time after I finish a post or sitting for an hour just trying to get the right paragraph.

Today was one of those latter days. Nothing was coming out how I wanted it, and I felt a funk. So, being the creative that I am, I decided to write this post instead. Because I think one of the most important parts of blogging is keeping it real. To me, the secret to successful blogging is knowing when to post and when it’s not meant to be.

Now, I know that this post won’t get as many likes or views as the ones where I’m wearing adorable outfits or showing off must-have makeup, but it’s just as important to me to keep it real around here. Not every day is your day, and that’s okay! And, most importantly, you’re not alone in feeling that way. My blog might look like I have it together most of the time, but I’m facing my own problems all at the same time.

To me, what makes a great blogger is being able to keep it real. So here I am, with a post about not wanting to blog, because that’s how I’m feeling right now. I’m feeling stuck, and tired, and like I rather go put on my pajamas and wash my face than take cute pictures. That’s exactly what I’m going to do too.

Can anyone else relate to this feeling? I know I can’t possibly be alone on this. Being creative is hard, which is what makes it even more exciting to celebrate when you come up with a great post or photo. But sometimes you have to admit to yourself that the day has won, and you can conquer it tomorrow.

Now excuse me while I go put on my cheetah print pajamas pants and jump into bed early.

xx.

97 Comments

  1. Azra

    I had that day yesterday, I was so grumpy, without any motivation and I hated myself for that. Keeping it real is the most important and we should all appreciate honestly. xx

  2. BeaFreitas

    Yes I can 100% relate! We all have those days where we know we should write something but we just don’t feel up to it! Many times I’ve opened up a post, get ready to write and end up deleting it and walking away. It happens to all of us so it’s such a great thing that you’ve been so honest and blunt about your experience! Thanks for sharing! X

  3. Claire Cramphorn

    I can totally relate to this one!! Some days you feel obligated to post…even though you’re totally exhausted and want to do something that doesn’t involve thinking!
    I love that you’ve written this 😊❤️

  4. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] I strongly disagree about being creative is hard.

    Why?

    Because, if we blog about what is truly on our mind, we will come up with material for a blog post.

    The main issue is when we force ourselves to write about a topic that we have no interest in at the moment. If we want to write about “Butterflies” we should write about “Butterflies” and not “Fashion”.

    Now, that is my take on being authentic!

    1. Kali Borovic

      I can see where you’re coming from, but being creative is hard. There’s no formula to doing it — you either are or you aren’t. No matter how much someone likes, say, “butterflies,” that does not mean that they will be good at expressing how much they like them, you know? We can agree to disagree, but thanks s much for stopping by xx.

      1. Renard Moreau

        [ Smiles ] Okay, let me clarify: if you always write about what you are feeling at the moment, you will create a much better article (This is were creativity comes in).

        If you force yourself to create an article based on a topic that you are not interested in at the moment, you are going to have lots of trouble writing it.

        Honestly, we human beings are creative by nature!

      2. Kali Borovic

        Again, we can agree to disagree on this one. While humans are creative by nature, that doesn’t mean that everyone has the ability to tap into it to express themselves in the way that they want, you know? xx.

  5. Lauren Rabadi

    I needed this! Yesterday was not a great day for my blogging – just beating myself up that it wasn’t good enough and I wasn’t reaching the success of others. Now I’m just trying to keep it real for myself.

  6. Chia

    I really admire you for having the courage to write this and share it with all of us. And what you feel is really relatable, I sometimes feel that way but I think I am not as brave as you because I don’t want to disappoint my followers I guess. I hope I can have more courage to do the same. Thanks for sharing, very touching and relatable! Xx

    1. Kali Borovic

      You’re not alone, Chia! And you’re not letting anyone down. Bloggers, myself included, can get so wrapped up in pleasing readers, but it’s our own bodies that we need to listen to first xx.

      1. Chia

        The last sentence really touches my way of thinking. Very inspiring, I think someday I should write something that really tells the way I am really feeling. Thank you, Kali! You are very kind xx

  7. Officially Chic

    I feel you girl. I definitely have those moments when I just don’t feel like writing. On the other hand, I have those days when I am highly motivated. But when I don’t feel like it, I still try to do the work on my blog that doesn’t require a lot of thinking.

  8. j_ivanna

    I had that a couple weeks ago. At first, I was quite inspired and even managed to write three different post drafts, but then I got completely stuck.

  9. starringpamela

    Oh I can definitely relate! I try to write a bunch of posts over the weekend but if I’m not feeling motivated then I just can’t do it! I don’t stress about it, I just walk away and come back when I’m feeling inspired to write again!

  10. uncoveringstories

    I love this post. I just started blogging and I’m often worried when I feel stuck in a rut. I’ve felt like maybe I’m bad at this blogging thing and everyone else is good at it? Thank you for making me feel like its not a me problem.

  11. styleintheafternoon

    I can definitely relate to how you were feeling today! Some days the words are just not flowing and I feel like I need to step back and take a break. It’s hard to do this sometimes when I feel like I need to constantly work on my blog and grow a following. Thanks for opening up about this struggle. It reminded me that everyone needs a break sometimes❤️

    1. Kali Borovic

      You’re so welcome! I’m glad that you enjoyed this piece. I completely agree. Sometimes it can feel like you’re letting your followers down when you take a break, but you have to keep yourself happy too xx.

  12. Natalie Vinh

    This is a great post. I can relate to the feeling, and most of the time I post the post anyways, which is why I always end up deleting my old work. I guess you’re right, it’s important to know when to post and when to save yourself the time!

  13. lifeofangela

    I love that you have cheetah print pyjamas, that sounds adorable! Also though I can relate to this. Even though I have multiple posts a day (😂) there are times when I can’t write and I feel stuck. So I don’t. But when I do get inspired, I write sooo many, cause my brain is overloaded with ideas. Then I schedule them all, then normally I’m tapped out so I head off and do something else for a bit till inspiration strikes 🙂

  14. TheFallibleQueen

    I’ve definitely been in a funk this last couple of weeks, so I’ve definitely had a fair share of taking some personal time. It’s not always sunshine and rainbows and that’s totally okay.

  15. Amelia in Hull

    Such a relatable post!! I have those days where I have little motivation and writing a blog post doesn’t come that easy to me but it’s important to keep it real and appreciate others for doing so 😊 thanks for sharing ❤ xx

  16. Raven Alixis

    i can totally realte​ to this feeling. And the crazy part about it is that I dont blog as much as some of my readers might think I do. I can literally go weeks without writing anything but my blog is starting to have new content every single day. Its so crazy because for a week i could write a whole mont​hs worth of blog post and then ​i wont​ have to do anything for the whole month, so over time i just learned to go with the flow of blogging and do it when i want and that way i dont​ get burned out. Hopefully ​this made sense and helped u lol

    stylishranter.com

  17. Zelma

    I just started my own blog, and I’m so so happy that this was one of the first posts I’ve read since taking the plunge. You very eloquently made such a great point – I definitely want to follow in your footsteps and keep it as authentic as possible. I’ll definitely be keeping this in mind as I continue! Thank you so much for sharing ❤

  18. Lee

    I love these kind of posts the most. They’re more relatable and let’s you know the blogger isn’t just some machine typing away, living the perfect bloggers dream. I’ve been feeling like this for a while, then I figured out I wasn’t wanting to blog because I want happy with my blog and content. I was focused on being active every day instead of blogging about things I love most. We have to learn and know when to take a break to recharge.

  19. Courtney Livingston

    I can definitely relate to this feeling! And I hate how the “real life” posts get way less interaction and views than style posts. But oh well- devoted readers always want to know the real stuff! I love your blog and I’m glad u keep it honest and talk about your struggles- because we all have them. Some days the words flow and some days they don’t… just got to keep on writing (and bribing ourselves w Netflix which I am so guilty of doing!)

  20. ayrgalaxy

    Yes, I agree with this post so much! I’ve had to scrap entire blog posts because before it seemed like a good idea, then when I was writing and deleting paragraphs, the realization that it wasn’t going to work hit me lol.
    I’ve had days when I don’t wanna blog either, and I don’t. I don’t like to force myself to do anything. It usually comes naturally. But days when I’m feeling my most creative, you bet I’m on my laptop writing up a ton of posts lol.

  21. rutheliz7

    Thank you for this! It’s so awesome to be reminded everybody has slumps and to take heart when they happen. Thanks for keeping it real!

  22. Jacqueline Elliott

    This is definitely my biggest challenge when blogging. Everything is set, all that’s needed is the actual words of the post, and suddenly I have complete writer’s block. So frustrating! Usually, I switch to a different post and come back to the difficult one later.

  23. Ella May Garrett

    Totally feel the same way a lot of the time! When I’m really motivated I try to sit down and write lots of posts to make up for the days where I am really not feeling creative. I think this post was really important to remind us that we’re not alone in feeling that way!! xxx

  24. Keri Elaine

    It completely happens! I have tons of ideas for future post, but sometimes when I sit down to write I just want to go with something lighthearted instead of something heavy that day. (I do start a draft though since sometimes you don’t want to risk lossing your work)! I do only post when I am inspired, sometimes that is once a week sometime that is twice.

    https://kerielaine.com
    Keri Elaine

  25. K.M. Sutton

    I can totally relate to this beauty! I sometimes feel like I get burnt out. It is hard being a novelist, freelancing for companies and magazines, AND having your own personal blog. That is a lot for the creative muse to constantly think up new content almost daily!
    But you know what it is perfectly fine to have those days where you need to give your muse a break 🙂 Don’t beat yourself up and take the r&R and rock those cheetah print PJ’s!
    Being real is what makes you so endearing and love reading your blog! ❤

  26. Issues under Tissues

    Keep it real! I like that phrase! I always try to put real emotions into words in order to tell a true personal story of those I had encountered while traveling. I hope my readers can feel my sincerity through my writing.
    Just sharing 🙂

  27. Mia

    I am definitely feeling what you are feeling. It has been almost a month since I last posted a review on my blog. I feel like I am stuck and sometimes thinking about writing a review keeps me away from reading. I never imagined it will be hard to keep up with my blog 😦

Leave a Reply

