e.l.f. Cosmetics’ Lip Transformers // Review & Swatches

Every single time I ask you guys what you’d like to see from my blog, someone says to review e.l.f. products. Seeing as they’re affordable, innovative, and readily available, I can totally understand why. There’s only one big problem with that — a lot of their items are make with gluten.

Until now, that is. While e.l.f’s Lip Transformer Palettes aren’t all-natural, they are gluten free, so I figured I’d reach out to them about a review. They were nice enough to send me three of the four to review for you guys. I’ve been playing around with the new products for about a week now and have a whole lot to tell you guys.

Here’s how the palettes work. You get four cream lip colors and one shimmery gloss inside. If you wear the colors on their own, they’re matte. If you add the shimmery top coat, they turn glossy. When I first saw these, I was extremely intrigued. This is the first lip palette I’ve owned, and it definitely doesn’t disappoint.

To put it simply, I really like these palettes. I think that the concept is great to start. I know that you’re supposed to use them with a lip brush, but I’ve been just dipping my finger in and putting it on like a balm. They go on super creamy and even. It’s everything you could ask for in a lip palette.

That being said, I don’t think that they’re matte at all. These are most definitely a satin finish, but it does get amped up to a wet looking shine with the gloss on top. I didn’t think that I would like the shimmery top coat, but I’m obsessed with the look and the feel.

Ready for the best part? The palettes are $6 each. It doesn’t get any more affordable than this. Especially with so many lip combos available in them. The shine looks great on its’ own and as a topper. Plus they all look great on their own. If that’s not bang for your buck, then I don’t know what is.

The cherry on top is the smell. Guys, THE. SMELL. These palettes are all scented like creme brulee and it’s the most delicious lip product I’ve ever had. And, while the color doesn’t last all day, the scent sticks around until the hue fades, which I’m not mad about.

While the neutral palette is the one that I reach for the most, my favorite is the pink one. They’re light enough to be worn every day, but can be darkened up to make a bold statement. Every single color is just as creamy as the next, and I’ve been loving combining the different colors too.

Like I said before, the only downfall is that they don’t last all day. But because they’re so creamy, I have no problem reapplying them throughout the day. They don’t slip and slide too much, so it’s not hard to apply them on-the-go, either.

Now let’s get to the packaging, because I have some strong feelings. I love them! Normally, drugstore packaging isn’t great, but these are pretty darn durable. I’ve been throwing them in my purse and they’ve been holding up. The only downfall is that they’re a bit hard to open. But I rather have that than them flying everywhere.

They also have a really great mirror in each of them. They take up the entire lid of the palette, which makes for a sleek design and practical usage. Holding this in your hand, you would never guess that it only costs $6.

As you can tell, I really really like these palettes. No, you don’t need them in your life, but they’re so much fun to have around. For such an affordable price, you really can’t go wrong, IMO.

Have any of you tried the palettes yet? I know they haven’t been out for long, but I’m interested to see what you guys think of them. Also, if you have any other lip palette recommendations, let me know in the comments. I’m hooked on the lip product now!

xx.

40 Comments

  1. ayrgalaxy

    I think I used to have a lip palette but didn’t like the formula as much lol. Since that one I’ve never bought another. I do like the sound of these and elf makes really good products

Leave a Reply

