How I Found My Bright Summer Bag // Thrift Stories

As soon as I walked through the double doors into the darkly lit, slightly musky-smelling thrift store, my eyes went straight to the bags. Typically, I run to the dress section, but something in me almost turned my head to the right for me. I was there with my friend Sarah, and we were planning to spend the day playing dress up with ridiculous outfits.

“Oh my gosh, LOOK!” was what I recall yelling as I ran towards the bag section full-force. I’m pretty sure I scared everyone out of my way.

We might have been there to try on over-the-top, crazy outfits, but there was nothing ridiculous about this bag. The mix of bright pink, green, and navy blue would typically be the last thing I looked at. But this bag had pom-poms and beaded embellishments. It pretty much screamed, “look at me!” And I did.

I grabbed the bag and took in all of the colors and pattern in for a solid twenty seconds before I could say anything. There is so much to look at on this bag that you would think it was overwhelming. For some reason, I was completely entranced with it instead.

Typically I stick to simple, one-colored bags. If you look at the collection of totes, purses, and sacks hanging from the hook over the back of my closet door, you won’t find anything like this in it. But that’s what I love so much about it — the bag is unlike anything I’ve seen before.

I have been pinning a whole lot of colored accessories to my IRL blogging journal lately. I’m trying to step out of my comfort zone, and this bag was what I needed to start me off. It’s got pom-poms, beading, and floral print all in one!

It’s exactly what I want my summer to be like too — unstructured, brights, cheery, and laid back. Boom. I found the perfect summer bag. Actually, it was more like it found me. Every time I forgot it was there, it would attach itself to a hanger that I pulled out of the cart. It was almost like it was saying, “don’t forget about me!”

When I welcomed it into my closet, I could tell it was a little out of place. I didn’t know what to wear with it or how I would fit it into my style. The first time I wore it, I paired it with unstructured, blue denim tie-waist shorts and a white tee. Basically, I let the bag be the star of the show.

But the more I kept reaching for it, I realized that it meshed pretty darn well with the rest of my wardrobe too. It fits right in with a t-shirt and athletic shorts, but can be thrown on with a dress too. It might be small, but it is mighty.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t say where this bag was from. There’s no tag anywhere to be found. Sarah and I think that it might be from a little market somewhere or maybe even handmade. Who knows, this could be the only one in the entire world.

This is why I love thrifting. I don’t know where something was from or why it got donated, but I can give it another life. One that you can read about right here in my little corner of the internet.

Please let me know if you guys liked this Thrift Story! I’m thinking that it will be a new series on my site. I’ll write about once a week or so. That way you guys don’t just get to see what I found, but hear the whole story about how I found it! Do you love it? Hate it? Let me know in the comments!

xx.

53 Comments

  1. kittyp0p

    Super cute! Definitely perfect for summer (: I found one of my all time favorite jackets at a thrift store for $3 and I wore it almost everyday this past winter. The reason I started my Depop is to give those items another life and maybe even to someone across the country instead of just my neck of the woods. Thrifting is so much fun and this post is lovely. Totally would love to hear more stories like this xoxo

    1. Kali Borovic

      That’s so awesome! I’m glad to find another thrifter out there, and I love that you have a Depop. Thanks for all your kind words, and I will definitely have more posts like this! xx.

  2. helloitsjo

    That is the most perfect bag to add a pop of colour to any outfit! I wish I had a similar one for summer!! I’m planning on looking through all my old stuff soon so fingers crossed I find something this fun too! Xxx

  3. education online

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. Lee

    This was so fun to read, you should definitely do a series. And I agree this bag is so unique and cute. Does look like it could be hand made! You always find those one of a kind items💖

Leave a Reply

