Dollar Tees & Fair Fries // Memorial Day At Blossom Festival

Normally, I don’t do anything for Memorial Day Weekend besides some online shopping. But this weekend my family from Baltimore came to town. That alone was a party in itself, but we all met at my aunt’s house for the Blossom Festival. So we hit the town with the whole gang to have some fun.

Basically, the Blossom Festival is a big, walkable fair. There’s games, rides, and food for all ages. I’m not big on the first two, but I will never say no to some fresh squeezed lemonade and a bucket of fries. Thankfully, neither can my mom or brother. It was some much needed quality family time.

The only problem is that I was not dressed for the weather. I worked all day, and didn’t really check the forecast before I left the house. I showed up in a sweatshirt and jeans, and it was more t-shirt and shorts weather. Thankfully, my aunt came to the rescue with her latest thrift find that she let me borrow.

Drumroll, please…

If you don’t get the reference, watch the video ASAP. The More Cowbell skit came from an SNL episode that will forever go down in history as one of the funniest ever. It featured Will Farrell, Christopher Walken, and, well, a cowbell.

Normally, I’m not a fan of your typical graphic tee, but I made a big exception for this one. I watched the skit at my aunt’s house when I was younger, so it brings back a ton of really great memories. It was so cool to me that she let me stay up late enough to watch SNL, and I’ll always remember laughing my butt off with her at this skit.

If any of you have seen the skit, please let me know in the comments! It might not have been the trendiest outfit I’ve featured on the blog, but the post was too good not to share.

Even better than the hilarious backstory, my aunt got this shirt from Goodwill. She was actually the one, along with my mom, who got my into thrifting. So it only makes sense that she would swoop in and save the day with an awesome thrift find. Oh, and she got the shirt for $0.50!

I paired the more cowbell shirt with a pair of ripped jeans and white sneakers. Honestly, it ended up being perfect for the day. There were people wearing everything from sundresses to short shorts, so this was the perfect in-between.

Of course, it didn’t really matter what I wore. My day with the family was so much fun. While the kids wandered off to ride the rides and play games, my mom, brother, and I went to find some food. My first stop was some fresh-squeezed lemonade [AKA my weakness].

It was a day well spent for sure. After the festival, we all went back to my aunt’s for a cookout, fire, and GF s’mores. It was a pretty great day. It’s not often that the whole family can get together to spend time together, but we make the most of it when we can.

We’ll actually be going to Baltimore to see them in a few weeks, so get ready for some pre and post vacation posts! I’m really excited to share the trip with you guys.

What do you guys think of the more laid-back outfit? I know it won’t be for everyone. Please leave some suggestions below with what fashion posts you’d like to see!

xx.

38 Comments

  1. Kimberly Starr

    Sounds like an amazing time – I’m glad you enjoyed yourself despite the anxiety! 🙂 Also, that shirt is great. As soon as I saw you wearing it, I instantly thought, “Yup, this is someone that I want to follow” and immediately followed your blog and ig, haha. Love it!

  2. TheFallibleQueen

    I really like your outfit, it’s so laidback. That’s honestly my style, casual all the way. My style is mainly athleisure with a couple dressy casual outfits in between :). Festivals are so much fun and one of my favorite things about summer :). I’m the opposite I look forward to the rides and games more than the food lol.

Leave a Reply

