All-Natural Dewy Skin // Olive + M Skincare

Let me just tell you a little beauty story real quick. I have been on the hunt for the best dewy skin products for months now. I’ve tried samples, invested money, and have been let down. Then I had an epiphany — makeup won’t look glowing unless your skin does. It seems obvious, but it’s definitely worth sharing.

That’s when I started trying every single skincare brand I could find. I was absolutely in love with the brand OSEA that I wrote about earlier in the year. They have the best products for fighting blemishes, but I needed something a little bit heavier to really get my skin glowing.

About three failed skincare brands into my journey, I was sent Olive + M. The 100 percent natural, plant-based cleanser, face oil, and eye serum are all made from olive oil and have essential oils. It doesn’t get much more natural than this, so, naturally, I was excited to try it.

I had never heard of using olive oil for skin, so I asked a professional to weigh in before I gave it a try. Dr. Ava Shamban, a professional dermatologist who specializes in wrinkle reduction, to weigh in. Here’s what she had to say:

Olive oil seems to have been among the original beauty treatments for the hair and the skin. It is also a natural moisturizer as it is loaded with squalene, a lipid found in the skin that diminishes with age and sun exposure. Olive oil also contains vitamin A which stimulates cell turnover and production of collagen.

Sounds pretty darn good to me!

As soon as I heard all of the praise, I knew I had to give this a try. I was a little hesitant about the cleanser especially, but I decided to go in full force. It turns out that oil really does clear oil. I’m getting the extra hydration that I need from an all natural source. I’m obsessed to say the least.

I’ve been following up the cleanser with the face oil and eye serum as well. Both are also made from olive oil, and I can’t believe how much it’s changed my skin. My face feels plumper and more hydrated in just a week. I’m also starting finally getting the glow from my skin that I’ve wanted for so long.

Although I am hooked on this skincare line and would recommend it to everyone, it is a little pricey. Each product costs between $50 to $60 each, and they don’t offer sample sizes. If you don’t want to spend the extra cash, Dr. Shamban has some advice. According to the derm, to get the benefits, all you have to do is put two drops of virgin, coldpressed organic olive oil in your moisturizer. Simple as that!

Would you try olive oil in your skincare? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear any other dewy skin tips you have too.

xx.

21 Comments

  1. Victoria

    I tried incorporating olive oil before but it just made my already oily skin seriously oilier. I prefer dry oils but congratulations for finding skin care products that actually work for your skin! We all know how rare that is to find. 🙂

      1. Victoria

        It was, but then again, it was probably just how /that/ particular one was formulated. I probably should olive oil a shot again. But I heard that it’s better suited for people with normal and/or dry skin, not for ones that are extremely oily. 😦

      2. Kali Borovic

        Ah I gottcha! Absolutely do what’s good for your skin. I’m not super oily, but I think the essential oils do a great job of balancing everything out xx.

  2. Natalie Vinh

    I was so super excited to read this post because I’ve been on the hunt for glowy skin as well! I was so thrilled until I read that price tag. Nope. I’ve been using Pixi products because they are all about that glow, but I’m definitely going to try that olive oil moisturizer tip, especially since the derm recommended it!

Leave a Reply

