DIY Embroidered Denim // Thrift Transformation

I’m short, and when I say short I mean 5 foot flat. So pants shopping is no easy feat. I have to hem every single pants I get, and thrifting is even harder. #ShortGirlProbs pretty much sums up my entire life.

I had been on the hunt for a pair of white jeans for months. Then one day I just got fed up with never being able to thrift the perfect pair and decided that I was going to take sartorial matters on my own hands. My new mission was to find a white pair of jeans that fit my thighs.

It went something like this

I got these jeans for $3.99 from Salvation Army. They’re originally from American Eagle and fit in all the right places — except for the length. Basically, they were about six or seven inches too long. I told you it was a problem!

But the hardest part was over. Once I had finally found a pair of pants that I liked, I headed to the craft store to pick up some embellishments. I have been wanting embroidered white jeans for a while now. I found a pair of regular jeans with embroidery on it, but I was stuck on the white trend.

I started by cutting the bottoms off. Because the “unfinished look” is so on trend, my job was way easier. All I did was cut the bottoms to fit as cropped jeans, distress the bottoms, and spray with a sealant. Done and done!

Next came the fun part. I picked out an embroidered flower pattern to make the white denim a little more interesting. Normally, I would choose something Earth toned to match everything. But because this DIY was so inexpensive, I decided to push the limits with some color.

I am seriously obsessed with how these pants came out. And it was so easy! All I had to do was flip the pants inside out and iron the pattern out. The entire DIY project took me ten minutes. So for all of you that think you aren’t crafty enough, you are.

All in all, it cost me about $9 to make these pants. If I were to search the thrift store, it would have taken me forever to find something like it. Plus, it would’ve cost me at least $30 to buy them. I’d say that’s a successful thrift transformation.

The package of iron on patches came with one long print and a small flower. I let my brother decide where to stick it on. I have to admit that he picked the perfect spot. The flower on the pocket makes it look more finished and ties in the two prints.

Not to toot my own horn, but I think I did a pretty good job. I’ve only wore them out once so far, but someone already asked me where I bought them. It’s a good feeling to take something old and make it new again.

Alright, now I need your help. I’m thinking of making thrift transformations into a series here on the blog. What do you think? I could take a secondhand item and turn it into something trendy. Let me know in the comments!

xx.

50 Comments

  1. K.M. Sutton

    You did such a good job! They look Ah-May-Zing! And girl You know I feel you on being short! I use to hem my jeans all the time (before I dsicovered WHBM) and still have to hem my dresses. The struggle is real! 💗

  2. lifeofangela

    Those little flowers are so cute! You’re so thrifty, literally! Also, if you’re just five foot (I had to do maths since I use metric), then we might be around the same height. I am so tiny and always have to hem pants too! 😀

  3. youmustbehighxo

    I LOVE THIS SO MUCH (also i feel like I’ve said this on another post, but it gets me every time – your blog design is GORGEOUS.) I think you should definitely do a thrift series xx

  4. TheFallibleQueen

    That would definitely be interesting, you should try that 🙂 Those jeans turned out so great. I actually had regular jeans that looked a lot like those, except the style of the jeans were bell bottoms.

Leave a Reply

