Making Lip Gloss Rings Cool Again // Rodin Lipstick Review

I am a full-blown ’90s kid at heart. Always have been and always will be. If there’s one beauty trend that I miss the most from the era, it’s lip gloss rings. I used to rock the product in all shapes, sizes, and flavors, Actually, I used to wear more than one at a time. That’s how much I loved the trend.

So you can imagine how excited I was to find out the Rodin, an organic beauty brand, made lip gloss rings. They so kindly sent me over one of them to test out, along with three of their lipsticks. As soon as I opened the package, I instantly slipped that baby on and have been wearing it ever since.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, and yes, I did get a bunch of weird looks. My brother laughed as soon as he saw it and said he didn’t think I could bring the trend back by myself. [Fair, enough.] My dad laughed as soon as he saw it and told me it was unhygienic. [True.] But no matter what they say, I’m not giving the ring up any time soon.

I will admit, as far as the product goes, the ring is more for show than anything else. The gloss is extremely sheer and doesn’t last a long time on the lips. For me, that was totally fine, because I loved flipping it ope and applying it. The whole thing made my inner seven-year-old self extremely happy.

The lip gloss ring only comes in one color — light pink — and looks clear on the lips. I wore it on it’s own and over lipstick, and it went on just fine. Like I said, this isn’t really the most ground-breaking lip product, but it’s a great throwback.

If you’re looking for something more practical, Rodin’s lipsticks are for you. These are your classic, twist-tube lip products, but way more luxe. First off, we need to talk about this packaging. It’s completely clear! It’s so simple, but so modern that you can’t help but love it.

Although it’s made out of clear plastic, the lipsticks feel high end. It’s not heavy, like other high-end brands, but it is extremely well made. I have been throwing them in my purse while I’m out, and they hold up really well. Not to mention that it looks incredible sitting on my makeup table.

They sent me three colors — Red Hedy, So Mod, and Winks. Each of them are extremely pigmented and go on better than any other lipstick I’ve tried. They’re comfortable, but don’t slip all over the place when I try to apply them. Rodin isn’t lying when they call this a luxury lipstick.

Not only do they look and apply great, but they fade extremely well. For me, this is important. I love reapplying lip products in the middle of the day, but it’s also important than when it starts to come off, it doesn’t leave a ring around my mouth. That’s what makes Rodin’s lipsticks better than the others.

I instantly gravitated towards the nude shade at first and wore it for three days straight. Then I branched out and tried the red. It’s safe to say that I fell in love. I got away without having to use a lip liner too, which I’m always grateful for. I’m not brave enough to try the bright pink yet though.

The only downfall is that these lipsticks are $38 each. Are they worth the price? I would definitely pay good money for them, but I don’t know about that much. Thankfully, the lip gloss ring is only $15. It might not be as glamorous, but it’s way more fun.

What do you think? Will you help me bring back the lip gloss ring trend or do you think I should leave this trend in the past? I’d love to hear about your favorite childhood trend in the comments!

xx.

 

38 Comments

  1. janahpinku

    Oh my gosh, I suddenly had a wave of nostalgia as soon as I saw that lip gloss ring! Also, the lipstick shades look so gorgeous, especially the red one. So classy! 💕

  2. Azra

    Love the packing of these products. Somehow I like clear plastic, because it makes you use products more, because you actually see them haha. xx

  3. lifeofangela

    I have never heard of lip gloss rings!! These are so cool though, I don’t wear lip gloss though, as I have a habit of chewing it off my lip, but I still totally want one of these 😀

  4. TheFallibleQueen

    I’m right there with you with the lipgloss rings lol. I really like the clear packaging it’s a simple but stylish look. One of my favorite childhood trends were chokers. I’m glad they are back in style :).

Leave a Reply

