Tarte’s Clay Play Palette // Swatches & Review

When it comes to makeup palettes, I am extremely picky. I want something that will let me create a completely look and can easily be taken on-the-go for touch ups. Well, Tarte’s Clay Play Palette does all of that and so much more. Although it doesn’t officially launch until May 21, Tarte was kind enough to send me one early, so I could test it out. And let me just tell you I fell in love. This is not your average eyeshadow palette, people!

I love Tarte products, but lately they’ve been a bit gimmicky for me. I get that the unicorn trend is alive and well, but I don’t want a palette filled with glitter and bright colors. I want something that I can get my money’s worth out of. That’s exactly what the Tarte Clay Play Palette does, and it’s incredible.

While at first glance, this might seem like your average neutral palette, it’s totally not. All twelve Amazonian Clay pumped shades are meant to be used all over the face. I’m talking contour, highlight, bronzer, shadow, and even eyebrows. If you’re looking for an all-in-one palette, this is the one to watch.

This palette completely changes the neutral game. The colors are grouped into three sections of four, but, as always, you can use them anyway you’d like. Each color is made with their signature ingredient — Amazonian Clay. It help balance and replenish the skin without creasing, caking, or baking.

Basically, it’s your wonder product and I can attest to that. Blending these on the face and eye was so incredibly easy. They feel almost like a cream on the fingers, but look like a powder. It’s incredible. While the shadows are super pigmented, they don’t have fallout and can be built up or down.

For the last few days now, I’ve been trying the palette out all over my face. At first, I was really hesitant to use them as bronzer and contour. I’m not the best makeup artist, but these shades basically did the task for me. They blend out so beautifully that it doesn’t matter if you have the right makeup brush or use to much.

The color selection ended up being perfect for me, so I created a full-face look with the palette. From the bronzer and contour to the shadow and even brow color. This is what it looked like all over my face.

Not to toot my own horn, but I think it ended up looking pretty nicely! I was getting compliments on my makeup all day long, which was a good feeling too. I only used two shadows on the eyes, contour, bronzer, and highlighter from the palette. I can already tell that this is going to be my new go-to.

Personally, I really loved the color selection when it came to my brows. Normally, people forget about redheads, but this palette let me blend my perfect brow shade easily. I did set them after I applied the powder, but the color lasted all day long.

The palette will launch on the Tarte website on May 21 for $46. If you ask me, that’s a small price to pay for a palette that does so much. I would gladly repurchase this palette, and to be honest, I probably will. I hope they never get rid of this do-it-all item, because it’s perfect for traveling.

If all of that wasn’t enough, the powders are all paraben, mineral oil, and gluten free. When I went gluten-free, Tarte instantly became one of my go-to brands. It feels good not to have to worry about what I’m putting on my face, especially with this all-over palette.

What do you guys think? Is this palette on your to-buy list? I’d love to hear your thoughts about it in the comments. And, as always, please leave any recommendations you have for products that you’d like me to try!

xx.

32 Comments

  1. stashy

    This palette reminds me a bit of the Kat Von D Light and Shade palette? Sounds really interesting and useful to have products that can be used for multiple purposes. I guess the trick is not to apply too much if I’m using the product on my cheeks rather than my eyes since the shades are so pigmented.

Leave a Reply

