Mother’s Day Thrifted Outfit Recreations

It’s Mother’s Day in the states, which is a very important holiday to me. My mom, grandma, and I are all extremely close to each other. I am who I am because of the strong-willed and compassionate women in my life, and I love being able to take the day to celebrate them the way that they deserve.

In true thriftonista form, I thought it was only appropriate to highlight some of their good [and not-so-good] fashion choices over the years. So, I did what I do best and hit the thrift stores to recreate their looks. I tried my best to come close to their looks, but there were some items that should just stay in the past.

I choose to highlight three outfits from my mom, one from my great-grandma, and one from each of my grandmas. This was so much fun to do, but it was also really interesting to compare all of their fashion choices to my own. I won’t make you wait any longer, here are my creations!

This is my mom on her first day of work. How stinkin’ adorable is she?! She’s always had simple and minimalist style, which is where I probably get my love for neutrals and pastels. To be completely honest, I would totally wear a similar outfit today.

I was worried about the mess in my room when I was taking these pictures, but, as my boyfriend so kindly pointed out, there seems to be a mess in her room too. I’ll remember that next time she tells me to clean my room hehe.

I’m absolutely in love with this picture. My great-grandma and I were extremely close. It wasn’t until after she passed away that I realized how incredible her style was. She passed down some jewelry to me, and they’re the pieces I treasure most.

The funny thing about this picture is that I actually bought this apron before I decided to recreate the photo. I guess her love for great accessories got passed right down to me! I need to do a whole recreation of her outfits, bc her style was incredible.

Feel free to laugh at this one, because I did when I found it. My mom said it was before she went to the mall with her friends. I love the attitude that she pulls off! Although I have no ideas whose glasses she’s wearing.

I can’t pull off the acid-washed look as great as my mom, but this was definitely fun to recreate. I do love my denim-on-denim though. When it comes to the perm, I just couldn’t commit.

My grandma is a babe. Every single photo she took looks stunning, and I desperately wish I could have found more lookalikes of her outfits. She could seriously pull off anything, and I’m so jealous of that.

I couldn’t find the exact green floral printed top, but I had this thrifted piece in my closet already. I saw that as a sign that I should definitely stage this look. We have very different style taste now, but it looks like her teenage style was similar to mine.

The funny thing about this pictures is that if I were alive in my mom’s era, I would wear this exact same outfit. As much as I like this look, I really picked it for the room that she’s in. My great-grandma’s house brings so many memories.

This outfit came from my friend Sarah’s closet. It was funny because as soon as I went to take this picture, I went to sit the exact same way. Besides the perm, I think I nailed this one pretty well.

This photo means a lot to me. This is my dad’s mom, and I never got the chance to meet her. From what I’ve seen, she had some seriously incredible style. She always had her heels on and her hair done up.

The dress isn’t exactly the same, but it’s definitely the exact same type that she could wear. I loved looking through her photos, because I felt so much closer to that afterwards. Isn’t it funny how clothing tells us so much about a person?

I hope you guys had as much fun reading this as I had making it. I think I’ll definitely be doing more of these in the future. What do you think? A big Happy Mother’s Day to all of you lovely mamas out there!

xx.

43 Comments

  1. lifeofangela

    This is an amazing idea for mother’s day! It’s so cute and personal. By the way, that first photo of your mum i thought it was you for a few seconds before I kept reading 😄
    You guys look alike! I love that their amazing fashion sense has been passed down to you, as well as many other amazing traits too I’m sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

