My Top Tips For Thrifting

As you guys know, I love a good thrift shop trip. I talk about the stores a lot on my blog, but I realized that not everyone is super familiar with them. Tons of you guys asked if I would give some tips on thrifting, so I thought it would be the perfect time to walk you through some of the things I’ve learned.

Walking into a thrift store can be intimidating. Especially if you’ve never been there before. There’s a sort of strategy to tackling thrift shops that I’ve found during my time shopping. It’s not like your typical store where you walk in, pick what you’d like in your size, and leave happy. But that’s what’s so fun about it — everything is unique.

While it does take longer to shop at thrift stores, it’s completely worth it, IMO. If you want to become a pro-thrifter, here are some of my top tips to start you off. And if there are any that I missed, please leave your tips in the comments!

1. Forget every assumptions or stigma you have about thrifting

I found that the hardest part about convincing people to come to the thrift shop with me is the stigma that it has. Secondhand clothing isn’t as fun or flashy as heading to the grand ‘ole mall and picking up something new. But if you give it a chance, I guarantee that you’ll have fun.

2. Scout Your stores

For me, this is one of the most important parts. I like to know what stores are around me and exactly where the money goes. Sometimes that means driving further than just the store in my area. I’ve found shops that give to charity, raise money for Relay For Life, and simply just keep the money for themselves, like a big garage sale.

3. Look for the color of the week

Once you’re actually in the store, this is my most important tip. If you’re shopping at a place like Salvation Army or Goodwill, there are a few different colored tags throughout the store. Each day, there is a sale on a certain color. It could be get a blue tag for a dollar or purple tags are half off, it just depends on the store. Look for those colors to save the most money.

4. Don’t be afraid of the fitting room

I know what you’re thinking, and no, it’s not gross. You try clothes on at the mall, not knowing where they’ve been. So what’s the difference? Because these clothes have been previously owned, you can’t always trust the size on the tag, since they’ve probably been washing and worn a few times. Because of that, I shop in all size sections.

5. take a friend

Everything is better with friends! Plus, it’s easier to try new things with a buddy by your side. While not all of my friends like thrifting, I’ve found some that share my passion for secondhand shopping. It’s so fun to try funky things on together and get some good laughs in, while you’re there.

6. Know how much you’d pay before you look at the tag

There are some items that look brand new and others that you’ll want in your closet simply because it’s hilarious. Know what you’d pay before you look at the tag. Sometimes the item is too good not to have and other times it’s worth waiting until the tag color goes on sale.

There you have it! Those are my top tips for starting out thrifting. If you have any other question, please leave them in the comment section! While I’m not exactly the queen of thrifting, I have learned a few things in my day and want to help you guys out any way that I can.

xx.

31 Comments

  1. stashy

    I use to thrift a LOT when I was in university. I loved hitting up all the charity stores. And yes, you MUST try on the clothes! The sizing are all over the place with older clothes. I agree also to bring a friend – it’s so much more fun that way too.
    Great tips! 🙂

  2. Azra

    I think the most important thing before thrifting is to be open minded. I once found Roberto Cavalli coatigan for 6 $, how amazing is that 😀

  3. Gluecksgeist

    This was such a great post! I’ve never been to a thrift store before because I just never find one in my town but if I do find a good one I am prepared for it now, xx

  4. lifeofangela

    Great tips! I really agree about trying it on, I’ve bought things previously where the tag said it was my size, but then it didn’t fit properly. So now I always try on everything before I buy. I love spending ages in a thrift store, you never know what you might find hidden among the racks 😀

  5. angelspartaness

    Nice tips! I love thrift shopping. I haven’t gone in awhile but I used to go thrifting all the time because my dad introduced me to it. I’ve found some really nice vintage items and stuff that I get compliments on all the time. I have this black jacket I wear everywhere and I got it for $2.50 at Goodwill… I get compliments on it constantly and people are always surprised when I tell them where I got it from and how much it cost!

  6. Lee

    I’ve never thrift shopped before. It following you and seeing your amazing finds I might give it a try, and with your tips I could be a pro☺️

Leave a Reply

