Designer Thrift Store Finds // Double-Sided Custo Barcelona Skirt

Once in a while, when you do a little searching, you can find high end designers at the thrift store. I’m not saying you will every time you go, but I’ve come across some golden eggs in my day. I figured it was time to share one of them with you guys.

It all started in Salvation Army with my brother, who, I should add, was just following me around because he didn’t want to be there. I was on a mission to add some more skirts to my wardrobe, so I headed right for the section. In between your classic denim and some raggedy old wrap skirts was the double-sided, super artsy cotton skirt. I had never seen anything like it.

So, naturally, I typed the designer — Custo Barcelona — into Google. Right there in the store, I realized that this was a Spanish designer that I didn’t know about. His skirts go from anywhere between $30 to $90, with the double-sided designs being on the higher end.

I instantly looked at the price tag. Normally things like this would be in the “brand name designer” section of the store, but they seemed to miss it. The skirt was marked for $3.99 and was the color of the week, which meant that I got it for half off.

What it’s worth didn’t really matter to me all that much. I did think it was pretty cool that my eye caught such a cool find though. People keep telling me to put this online to sell, but I think I’m going to wait until I get some more wear out of it. It’s just too cool!

The front of the skirt is black with copper detailing. At first glance, you see that it looks like a bunch of shapes. But when you look closely, it’s actually a woman’s face and the side of her hair. The artsy look sis what instantly drew me to the skirt.

That’s one tip that I’ve learned while shopping — if it’s weird, it’s probably worth something. Everyone can do down the street and snag a gorgeous cardigan or funky pair of jeans, but not just anyone has a double-sided skirt.

Then you turn around and BAM! A whole ‘nother print. I have to admit, I am no artist and I have no idea how these prints work together. They just do. It was a little tougher styling this too, since I had two different sides to account for.

Because the back is a bit more laid back, I decided to pair it with a white t-shirt and a jean jacket. I tried it with sneakers, but the front was just too dressy, so I went with some strappy black sandals.

The skirt is made out of cotton and says it was made in Spain. I could tell that it wasn’t a new Custo Barcelona design, since I can feel that it’s a little worn. All of the detailing is still in perfect condition though.

More than anything, I love knowing that I gave this once-loved skirt a new home. The original owner probably paid a lot more the $2 for it too. Either way, I’m happy to give it a new life and get some wear out of it.

What do you think? Should I try to sell it online or keep in in my closet for a while? I’d love to hear if you guys liked this post. It was a little different than my usual outfit posts. Let me know in the comments!

xx.

33 Comments

  1. Maggie

    Oh my goodness 😍 What an epic skirt! It looks great on you – I love what you paired it with. Great thrift store finds are always so exciting! Last year, I found a tan/dark brown kimono for a few dollars at one of my fave thrift stores, which would have easily retailed at $30! I absolutely love it 😊

      1. Miranda

        I agree. I’m 6 feet tall so I love wearing maxi dresses and skirts, do you think you would ever do YouTube videos?

  2. Miranda

    Have you heard of the site Lulus? They have so many cute dresses on their that I think you’d love 🙂 I could send you some through email

Leave a Reply

