Embroidered Denim Trend // Mini Thrift Store Haul

For everyone who thinks you can’t find trendy pieces at the thrift shop, this post is for you. Up until now, I’ve featured mainly tops and dresses in my posts. I thought that it was about time to give the denim some love too. And it’s not just any old denim, either. It’s embroidered!

I’ve been doing this ritual every week where I go through magazines and put together a vision board of trends that I love. It’s partly to have a tactic when I go into the thrift shop and partly because it’s a lot of fun. [Let me know if you want to see my pages each week!] Last weeks was filled with all the embroidered items, and my planning paid off.

The first thing I found was a pair of embroidered jeans. I’ve been on the hunt for detailed jeans since spring began. So much so that Iw as about to buy patches online and stick them on my own jeans. Needless to say, I was beyond excited to find these. It also helped that they were only $2.50.

I was so excited when I found these that I practically skipped to the dressing room singing, “please fit, please fit, please fit” over and over. As soon as I slipped these on and the button closed without prying, I let out a squeal of excitement that probably scared half the people in the store.

That’s the thing about thrift stores. If you find something and it doesn’t fit, you can’t just go grab the next size up or down. While some people might find that irritating, I think of it more as finding the perfect match. Bottom line: these jeans are my sole mate, and I’m not mad about it.

Speaking of sole mates, this skirt and I are not. I am obsessed with the look and design of this skirt. There’s only one big problem — it’s a little too snug. It was the color of the week, which meant it was on sale for $1, so I wasn’t about to pass it up. I’m hoping with my new workout routine, it will be ready for some photo shoots by summer.

The detailing on this skirt is exactly what I was looking for. It’s a little bit messy and DIY-ish, but that’s why I love it. I could easily dress this up with a pair of heels or throw on some sneakers for a day around town. Plus you all already know that I love a good jean skirt.

One more close-up, because it’s just too good not to. As you can tell, I’m pretty darn excited about these buys. It didn’t completely curb my appetite for embroidery though. You better believe I’ll be on the hunt for even more.

Are there any other trends that you’d like to see me style secondhand? Let me know in the comments!

xx.

28 Comments

  1. Natalie Vinh

    I wish we had your type of thrift stores in my town! Unfortunately, most of the finds here are terribly out of style!

  2. K.M. Sutton

    So I need a new pair of white jeans (mine have seen better days) but the store I buy my pants from only have white jeans with embroidery and I was kind of poo pahing (I know it is trendy buttt it brings me back to the nineties🙈) BUT seeing the embroidery on your jeans makes me rethink that because it really is adorable! You just might have converted me! 💗

      1. K.M. Sutton

        Haha, I was a true nineties kid so those fashion memories are still fresh in my mind to make a comeback. (Ironically my sister said the same thing about the eighties a few years ago lol) Yes I definitely have to take another look at those jeans! ❤

Leave a Reply

