Thrifting Could Change The World // Happy Earth Day!

Happy Earth Day, everyone! As many of you know, I’m on a journey of living purposefully, and I thought this would be the perfect time to check-in with you guys. It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of thrift shopping. [You’ve probably seen a lot of the outfits in my posts.] But it turns out that thrifting could be the key to saving the planet.

I’ve made it my goal to live purposefully in all aspects of life this year. Mainly that means buying and using things that are good for my body, my wallet, and the world. Because fashion and beauty purchases get so much of my money, it meant making some big changes to the items that I buy. My biggest life change was shopping at thrift stores. Not only am I saving money and giving back to charity (when shopping at places like Salvation Army and GoodWill), I’m also helping with the global waste problem as well.

According to Newsweek, only about 20 percent of clothing donated to stores like Salvation Army, resulting in part of the 80 percent of unwanted clothing ending up in landfills every year. I want to change that. You can find some incredible, even trendy clothing at secondhand shops. Don’t believe me? Just look at some of the outfits in this post.

I understand that not everyone has the time to pick through secondhand clothing racks, but the problem is bigger than you may think. Clothing production has been linked to global warming, according to Forbes. The publication found that the apparel industry is the second largest industrial polluter — second only to oil. Let that sink in for a moment.

Is that designer bag or collection of fast fashion items in your closet really worth it? I’ll let you decide that answer for yourself, but for me it’s not. I’ve felt so much better about my purchases lately, and, since much of the clothing is so cheap, I can try out tons of different trends without breaking the bank. It turns out you can do it all — it just takes a little more time.

Would you believe me, if I told you this dress was only $1.99? Well, it was! The haltered and striped petal-layered dress looked almost brand new when I picked it up from the thrift store. Not only did I get an on-trend and super comfy dress, but I gave it a new life by wearing it instead of buying something new. That’s what thrifting is all about.

If we can cut down on the amount of clothing we buy from department and fashion fashion stores, which are, more often than not, contributing to this global crisis just by over-producing clothing, we can control global warming. Whether it’s using apps like Vinted and thredUP to sell clothing, buying from thrift stores, or shopping at flea markets, every little bit matters. Because making the world a better place for generations to come is way more important than that crop top you’ve been eyeing up.

xx.

18 Comments

  1. janahpinku

    Thrift stores are treasure chests! They have a lot of really nice clothes for such affordable prices. I once scored a little black Zara dress for about 3 dollars! It helps the planet and it helps our budget too.

    Btw, you look so lovely and so trendy in that dress. Love this post! Happy Earth Day. 💕

  2. Everything EmmZeeBee

    In the UK we call them charity shops…I’m guessing they are the same thing? My Mum has always been an avid secondhand shopper, so that got passed down to me! When I go into charity shops it’s very rare I see anyone in there under the age of 30?! I love that striped dress you got!

  3. Lee

    Wow $2, that’s a great deal! A steal even lol I’d love to find clothes priced like that often. I’m going to check out those apps for selling clothes, I have a few that I’ve been wanting to get rid of without throwing away

  4. Melissa Gibbs

    I love this idea and it’s honestly so true! If anything, thrifting can be more fun than shopping at bigger brand stores because you can get things still on trend but also completely unique! It makes me wish I had a market or shop I could go to around here. My entire wardrobe would be thirfted!

  5. lifeofangela

    We call thrift shops opshops down here in NZ. It stands for opportunity shops I think, which is such a fitting term! My dad has worked for Salvation army for the past decade, so even when I was younger we would constantly buy things and clothes from there 😄😄

  6. K.M. Sutton

    I love thrift shopping. And I LOVE Thredup. I have been using them since they first began. A great way to not just buy clothes but to also sell them. I also do Ebay a lot too. Love that dress! It is adorable and looks fabulous on you! 💗

Leave a Reply

