Thrifted Easter Dress // Sunny Sunday Layers

When I looked at the weather for Easter, it said it would be in the mid-70s and rain all day. I had an outfit of jeans and a thrifted tee planned. But when I woke up and saw that the weather had changed to sunny skies, I knew I had to take advantage of it and wear a dress, and I had the perfect one.

My family always has a casual Easter. Everyone comes to our house, and it matters more that we’re all together than what we wear. Honestly, I couldn’t even tell you what I’ve worn in previous years. But this year I had some fun with a thrifted dress.

Since I’ve tried my hand at the dress and tennis shoes trend, I decided to take it a step further by throwing layering into the mix as well. I paired a plain white shirt underneath my jumper. It was perfect for the weather and gave it a little more style than just a denim jacket. Although the outfit might look simple, this has a lot of the trends I’ve been dying to try.

I picked up the jumper dress on my last thrift haul for $4. All the kudos to my friend on this one. I wasn’t going to get it, but she mentioned how good it would look with sneakers and a choker. Once the idea came alive [and I felt how incredibly comfortable it was], I just had to buy it.

This outfit would have been properly complete with a black choker. My inner-’90s child was dying to throw one on, but this look was already a little out of my comfort zone. I opted for a gold “K” necklace instead. I’ve had the jewelry items since I was little, and I can’t remember the last time I wore it.

The dress is suede, so it’s a little stretchy and extremely comfortable. It was pretty casual, but still a little stylish, which I seem to be loving lately. I also love the stitching detail on all of the seams. It gave the dress a little more personality and structure.

To give the look a pop of color, I used Nail Inc’s Spring Collection to make a dipped-dyed pattern on my nails. The pink and purple were perfect for Easter and added a little bit of fun to a monochromatic look. I’ve been loving pastels lately. They add just enough color to make me straddle the line between my comfort zone and something new.

These shoes are the same ones that I wore in my thrifted city style post. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect spring shoe. Until then, I’m going to experiment with the sneaker trend a little more. It’s hard for me to find shoes because I have such a small foot. Any recommendations that you have on purposeful shoe brands would be great!

I don’t know how much I’ll be styling the layering trend this spring, but I’m glad I decided to try it out at least once. How was your Easter? I’d love to hear what you wore for the holiday!

xx.

22 Comments

  1. tigercup

    The thing about your writing that I like is that you write what you want your writing is real you Dont want to seek attention of peoples it is good and its always interesting to know about peoples choices

  2. TheFallibleQueen

    I love how simple and stylish your outfit is 🙂 I actually posted yesterday about Easter and the outfit I wore 😉 It was a lavender dress w/ light blue and yellow flowers on it. It reminded me of a disney styled dress 🙂 My easter was great spending it with family, cooking, attending service and doing some grocery shopping

Leave a Reply

