My Top 5 Women-Owned Beauty Brands // Equal Pay Day

I’m not one to give into all the national holidays, but this is one that deserves to be recognized. Equal Pay Day is on April 4, and I’ve got the perfect way to celebrate — by shopping women-owned beauty brands. Let’s be honest, there’s always an excuse to buy new makeup. This reason just happens to be a really great one.

According to Business Insider, “on average, women earn .79 cents to every dollar a man earns.” That’s a median of $10,800 less annually. Something has to change, and we can make it happen. To start, we can celebrate brands owned by women. Because, girl power. Duh.

While there are plenty of brands out there that I love, some of my all-time favorites are owned and run by women. Coincidence? I think not. But seriously, it’s important that we, as women, support each other. Be it in the makeup world, fashion world, or just every day life. When we make each other our role models and mentors, everyone prospers.

When I started doing research about who owned some of my favorite makeup brands, I realized that a lot of them were women. They all have pretty awesome stories too. Not to mention almost all of these brands are completely all-natural. There’s no better time than Equal Pay Day to stock up on woman-owned finds, so I thought I’d give you a bit of a head start.

Just to clarify, I didn’t include any brands that co-owned with men. Although there are some great companies who have male and co-male owners, this is a time to support the ladies. These are all brands that were thought of, started, and run specifically by women. From the beginning to the end, they do it all.

Beautycounter

Just to clarify, this is not an all-natural brand. The company does say that all the products are made with safe ingredients though. After realizing how many ingredients weren’t regulated by the FDA, ‎Gregg Renfrew started this company to focus on progress in the beauty world.

My favorite products from this line are hands down the Lip Sheer lipsticks. They go on, well, sheer but are super buildable. Not to mention that the packaging is gorgeous. Their Dew Skin Foundation is also worth the buy.

100% Pure

This is one of those brands that you see and think, this is too good to be true. But it’s not! Everything from the brand is 100 percent all-natural and cruelty free, and Founder Susie Wang is constantly coming up with new and innovative products.

My two favorite products are made from fruit. You have no idea how excited that makes me. The Super Fruits Healthy Foundation is made from fruit and vegetable pigments. It’s a full-coverage base. My other favorite is the the Black Tea Mascara. The first ingredient on the list is actually organic black tea. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Vapour Organic

This is another brand that is no stranger to my blog. Founders Krysia Boinis and Kristine Keheley are a girl gang that goes above and beyond to create great products, According to their site, the combine healing botanicals and alchemical blending to make products that have cultural and spiritual meaning as well as supreme skin nourishing benefits.

You already know that I love the creme Artist Eye Palette. My other favorite is their Soft Focus Foundation. It goes on medium coverage and makes my skin feel great. With 100 percent natural ingredients — 70 percent organic and 30 percent mineral — it doesn’t surprise me that I love these products,

Josie Maran

Josie Maran is incredible. It’s as simple as that. According to the website, she started as a model. After working with the top makeup artist, she saw that luxury meant not having a conscience, so she changed that. The brand has high-end products that are simple, easy to use, and made from the best argan oil in the world.

These are two products that sit on the top shelf of my beauty table. I reach for them almost every single day. Especially in the spring. My two favorite products are the Creamy Concealer Crayon, which I use as foundation, and the Argan Color Stick. Both are made from pure argan oil, and my skin loves them.

RMS Beauty

This story is so inspiring. After being a makeup artist for 35 years, Founder Rose-Marie found that she was allergic to the toxins in makeup — both physically, mentally, and emotionally. [Not something all that uncommon for me.] So she created this brand dedicated to healthy beauty.

My two winners in this line are basics, but they go above and beyond. The “Un” Cover-Up concealer is my go-to for every single makeup look, while the “Un” Powder is the only powder I’ve been using for about two months now. It minimizes pores, absorbs oil, and keeps my looking fresh all day long.

You really can’t go wrong with any of these products. I highlighted my favorites, but I have yet to find a product that I don’t like from all of these brands. It turns out women know a thing or two when it comes to beauty.

xx.

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

