Spring Shoulder Length Hair // Donation Gone Wrong

Spring is officially here, which means cleaning out my closet, stocking up on new lip colors, and switching up my hair. Since I already knocked the first two out, it was time for the third. Because I’m living purposefully now, it only made sense to donate my hair. So I called the salon, scheduled my appointment, and was ready to take six inches off of my hair for a good cause — or so I thought.

I did a lot of research on which hair donations to give to. There are a few out there, but only a few in my area. I decided on Locks Of Love. The organization allowed me to give six inches of hair rather than ten or twelve. When I said I had red hair, the place was thrilled. Apparently, they don’t get a lot of red-headed donations, so this was perfect.

Unfortunately, the plan completely failed. When I got to the salon, I was told that they would only take ten to twelve inches of hair. If I would’ve known that, I would have kept growing it out, but I was already committed to the haircut. I’m going to try and donate this upcoming year instead. I still ended up getting six inches cut off, and I really love the way it turned out.

Okay, so it’s a little longer than shoulder length. Considering how long that my hair was, six inches still kept it pretty long. Not many people noticed that I got it cut, but my close family definitely realized how healthy it looks.

Speaking of healthy, my hairdresser kept mentioning how healthy my hair is. I was completely surprised, since I haven’t had it cut in a year. [Bad, I know.] It’s nice to know that I’m doing something right. Let me know if you want to see a healthy hair routine post in the future!

Here’s a before and after of my hair, so you can see how drastic the cut was — for me at least:

I absolutely loved my long, mermaid-like hair. [Especially when it was curled.] But it was getting way too long. I have a full head of oily hair, so it was at the point where I had to wash it every other day or it looked ratty. Plus people kept commenting on how long it was, which is not always a complement.

I really love how the cut came out. I probably could have gotten and extra inch cut off, but long hair is my security blanket. I wanted it long enough to curl but short enough to see a difference. That’s exactly what I got.

Have any of you gotten a haircut lately? Or donated your locks? I’d love to hear all about it!

xx.

15 Comments

Leave a Reply

