Purposeful Spring Lipsticks // Essence Makeup

Spring is officially here, which means the hunt for the perfect spring lipsticks is on. I really went crazy with fall and winter colors this year. When I went searching for a light pink, I realized that I didn’t have any. So I did what any normal makeup-lover would do — I went to Target to stock up.

I was going through the drugstore the other day and I stumbled upon Essence Makeup. To be completely honest, I don’t shop this brand often. That’s mostly because it freaks me out that they don’t seal up any of their products. But, as I sat in the Target aisle doing my research on the brand, I realized that I was making a huge mistake by not shopping the products more.

Not only is the brand super affordable, but they have some really amazing morals as well. They donate to four different charities, stick to FDA and European Union Cosmetics Directive standards, and are cruelty free. While I won’t be using their face products until they get back to me about being GF, you better believe that I stocked up on their lipsticks.

I decided to just go ahead and grab all the different pinks I could find. There’s two mattes [02 and 03] and two Long-lasting Satins [07 and 11]. I’m going to be completely honest, I didn’t expect for these to blow me away like they did. Not only do they look absolutely gorgeous and layer super well, but they last a pretty long time. When they do start to fade, it still looks great too.

Brace yourself for what I’m about to tell you. These lipsticks are $2.99. It doesn’t get more affordable than that. That’s why I had no problem stocking up on a bunch of different shades. Now that I know how well they work, I’ll be going back for even more.

While I was at Target, I decided to try out the XXXL Shine Lip Gloss as well. I got the shades Life Is Sweet and Nude Candy. While I didn’t end up loving them as much as the lipstick, they do have a great formula. I don’t think I’d buy more of them though. That’s more because I’m not really a lip gloss wearer.

If you want a review from a devout gloss-lover, head over to Simply Serenity. She did a great post about the XXXL Shine Lip Gloss, and ended up really loving the product. That’s the great thing about makeup — everyone loves something different, and that’s okay!

If you’re looking for a great lipstick that you can just throw in your bag and not have to worry about, Essence’s are the ones for you. You can easily stock up on them without having to feel guilty about spending the money. Plus, you can take some color risks and not have to worry about whether or not you’ll like them.

All of that combined with the purposeful ethics of the company, and it’s safe to say that I’ve completely fallen in love with these lip products. Do you guys have any drugstore lipsticks that I should try? Leave them in the comments!

xx.

22 Comments

Leave a Reply

