St. Patrick’s Day Accessories // Vintage Hand-Me-Downs

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone! My great-grandma was 100 percent Irish, so my family and I use it as a day to celebrate our heritage. And what better way to do that than through my love for fashion? I thought it would be the perfect time to dig through my jewelry box and finally put sameΒ of those good ‘ole hand-me-downs to good use.

My family is huge on giving each other clothing and accessories. We’re constantly swapping shoes and shirts through the family as well as some really great statement pieces. My great-grandma and I were super close, so I cherish all of the gorgeous pieces that she left me.

It also helps that fashion history repeats itself. Because while these items sat in my drawer for a while, I can now put them to good use. I’m talking about neck scarves, jeweled rings, and quirky necklaces. These are some of my favorite accessories, and I’m so excited to share them with you.

Technically, this ring is my mom’s [I told you we were big on swapping], but I’m always eyeing it up when I’m in her room. She got it from her aunt. There’s just something so beautiful about the swirls and the bright color that draw my to it.

There’s nothing super Irish about this piece, but the color speaks for itself. It also happens that my great-aunt who gave it to my mom was also very Irish.Β If you couldn’t already tell from my red hair, these roots run deep.

I am so excited that this scarf landed in my closet. My great-grandma used to wear it every single St. Patrick’s Day, so I just knew I had to keep up the tradition. After all, it’s too fabulous not to!

Neck scarves are coming back into fashion, so that’s the way I decided to style it. I also love to wear it as a head band, tied around my ponytail, or around my arm as a bracelet. The color of the scarf really makes my green eyes pop and I love that it still smells like my great-grandma.

These quirky-cool accessories were also left to my by my [very Irish] great-grandma. And, yes, I do mean plural. While the actual necklace sits inside of the matching box, the hearts on the front are tiny little earrings. This has always been a favorite piece of mine.

Not only is it super convenient to have a whole set in its own little box, this also looks adorable sitting out on my vanity. This is more of an everyday piece that I wear, but there’s no better time to celebrate it than today. I can’t wait to be able to give these to my children someday too.

Do you have any hand-me-downs that you cherish? I would love to hear about them!

xx.

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

