Real-ish Time Thrift Store Haul // Playing With Patterns

As a fashion & beauty writer, I constantly see new trends coming and going. Since switching to the life of less fast fashion and more purposeful purchases, thrift stores have become my new go-tos. All good trends repeat themselves, so there’s a good possibility that, if you dig enough, you can find exactly what you’re looking for. It also makes me feel great to repurpose a once-loved item and give back to charity at the same time.

This isn’t the first thrift-haul on my blog, but I decided to switch it up a bit. Instead of just showing you the big bag of goodies I got, I decided to take you guys into the dressing room with me. Most things I picked out worked, but there was one that didn’t. You’ll be able to see it all — the good, bad, and just plain ugly!

That’s the thing about thrift stores. No matter how cool or unique a piece looks on the hanger, it doesn’t always translate when you put it on. Unfortunately, you can’t just grab a size up or down. For me, that’s what’s so fun about thrift stores. You find little treasures that no one else will have.

Most of the time when I go into a thrift store, it’s just to browse. I genuinely have fun going through the rows and rows of clothing and shoes to see what I can find. This time was different, though. I had a sartorial plan of attack.

My mission was to add spring colors and prints into my wardrobe. I was also hoping to stock up on some pajama-style tops as well. If I told you how many of those styles I have saved in my online-shopping carts, you’d think I was kidding. You’ll be happy to know that I’ve stood my ground though!

I picked up four different pieces to start with, since I was on a time schedule. I ended up trying on two printed tops, a dress, and a jumpsuit. Since most of what I wear is plain, neutral colored, and pretty basic, I was pretty proud of myself for picking them out. Here’s an inside look a the trying on process.

Hello, print world! If you can believe it, the only thing that didn’t work was the solid dress. Who knew that I’d become a bold print lover with just one trip to the thrift store. But seriously, I was really happy with the outcome — with the exception of the brown dress that did me absolutely no favors.

The black and white floral printed tee was exactly what I was looking for. It slightly resemble a pajama top, is comfortable, and, once I remove the shoulder pads [lol], this top will be perfect for spring. I also really loved the funny-printed jumpsuit. The picture doesn’t do it justice though. It’s a bit more fitted and cropped in the arms and legs. I just couldn’t button it down the back all the way by myself.

The yellow, floral printed flowy shirt was a little bit more of a gamble. Normally, I don’t buy a piece unless I can picture exactly what I’d wear it with or when I’d wear it. The top was only $1 though, so I decided to take the risk. That’s why I love thrift stores so much!

I got a few more accessories too, but I’m going to save them for my upcoming springtime thrift haul. You guys really liked when I did my fall one, so I think I’ll bring it back every season.

Ready for the best part of the entire trip? I got two tops, a jumpsuit, two accessories, and three books for $17. And all of my money went to charity. It might not be the most glamorous of Instagram-worthy shopping trip, but it makes me feel great to live purposefully. I hope this inspires you to give thrifting a chance!

xx.

11 Comments

Leave a Reply

