Blanket Scarves & Candle Making

I am a firm believer that the right candle can completely turn a day around. What’s better than finding the perfect candle? Making your own. For this weekend’s adventure, my friend and I went to the Cleveland Candle Company. It’s a tiny little all-local shop that let’s you personalize everything from the scents to the jars to the label. Basically, it’s heaven on Earth.

I have been so lucky to have found a friend who loves the whole living purposefully idea just as much as I do. So when I suggested that we spend the afternoon at a local shop making 100 percent soy candles, she was just as excited as I was. Since it was too cold to do anything outdoors, spending the day inside making candles and supporting local business was great.

As soon as we walked in the doors, I knew I had found my happy place. There were over 150 scents lining the wall. Our job was to choose two to four scents to add to our candle. At first it was overwhelming. They had every scent you could possibly imagine. I’m talking everything from chai tea and fresh coffee to beer and bacon.

Thankfully, my friend and I had the entire shop to ourselves, so we got to take our time. I swear we smelled almost every single scent twice. After about twenty minutes and three dance breaks, I narrowed it down to four — spearmint, sweet ginger, jasmine, and eucalyptus.

The smell is relaxing and Earthy. I wish I could share the scent through my blog. I choose spearmint to keep me focussed while I’m working, eucalyptus because it’s relaxing, and sweet ginger and jasmine purely because of the light, refreshing smell. We go to name our candles too. I chose “breathe deep”, because that’s exactly what I wanted to do when I smelled it.

Now for the fun part — my outfit. Like I said before, it was sunny but still pretty cold out. Northeast Ohio loves to play tricks on us with it looking ten times warmer than it actually is. I secretly love days like this. It let’s me wear lots of layers and play with fun winter accessories.

The way I see it, there is no better occasion to wear a blanket scarf and a thrifted hat than on a day when you’re candle-making with a great friend. I will admit, my outfit was a little extra for a Sunday afternoon. It was so “me” though. It’s always a risk wearing a large hat, but I think I pulled it off pretty well.

I got this hat from the Chardon-based vintage shop that my friend and I visited the other week. I don’t think the original owner anticipated there being foundation marks on the inside of the 100 percent wool topper, but there you go.

Because it’s getting closer to spring, I did add a pop of color with my pastel purple nails. Other than that, this was one of my favorite winter outfits. You might be wishing for summer, but I’d be happy with layering all year long.

Between the candles, spending time with a great friend, and sticking to my purposeful plan, I’d say it was a pretty great day.

xx.

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

