My All-Natural Makeup Brush Washing Routine

When I decided to switch to all-natural makeup, I realized that my brush washing routine would have to change too.

I used to use my face wash to clean my brushes. Since I switched up my routine [post to come], I had to switch the tool cleanser too. My previous face wash worked great for the time being. but I looked for a product that was a] natural, b] didn’t take more than one wash, and c] cheap. Because, let’s be honest, all of that is equally important to me and the Earth.

I did a lot of research when it came to switching up my brush routine. I thought about just using my face wash again, but decided against it. My new wash is a bit pricier than my old one, so I didn’t want to waste the product. Plus it’s a lot lighter than the other one, so I don’t think it would clean as well anyways.

I decided on castile soap. First off, it’s made of all vegetable oils including coconut and excluding things like animals fats, which is in the majority of other soaps on the market. To be specific, I use Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Castile Soap. They vow to work with organic farmers, treat workers like family, and help the Earth. They use 100 percent recycled plastic, solar power, and regenerative agriculture. Basically, this is a soap that you can feel good about using.

The best part is how incredibly easy it is to use. The problem I’ve had with other cleaners is that it takes one or two washes to get the brushes clean. With castile soap, you don’t waste product at all.

All I do is squirt some in a small bowl and dilute it a little with water. After that, dip the brush in just enough to hit the bristles and not the brush handle, wipe off excess on the corner of the bowl, and get to brushing. I told you it was easy!

You can use a brush pad to get a really deep clean, but I choose to just rub the brush in circles on my palm. It’s seriously incredible how fast the soap works. I’ve had brushes for years now and haven’t seen them cleaner than when I use castile soap. Your brushes will look brand new.

The only downside to using castile soap to clean your brushes is that if you use too much soap, you need to really wash the bristles out. There’s nothing wrong with the soap getting on your face, since it’s all natural, but it’s obviously not super appealing to apply makeup with soap still on the brush.

In my honest opinion, the positives outweigh the negatives completely. Not only does it take less time, save money, and help the Earth, but it’s quick and my brushes dry quicker. You really can’t go wrong with this buy. Plus you can buy it at the drugstore. it really doesn’t get much better than that.

Obviously this isn’t the only all-natural brush cleaner out there. Sigma Beauty has a new one out as well as plenty other natural brands out there. Castile Soap is just the one that made the most sense to me.

If you have any other great natural makeup brush cleaners, let me know in the comments! I love trying out different products and seeing which works best.

xx.

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

