A Chilly Trip To The Farmer’s Market

Two feminists walk into a farmer’s market…

No, but really. I went to the West Side Market this weekend, and, besides the catcalling, had a really great time. No matter the weather, the market never disappoints. I love stocking up on goodies, but doing it with great friends makes it even better.

My friend and I started the day like everyone should — with a macaron and coffee. We took our breakfast of champions to the top of the West Side Market. Up two flights of stairs and onto a balcony and we could see the entire market in aerial view. If that wasn’t already great enough, we got to have a long talk about things that actually matter. It was a great day to say the least.

Not pictured: the espresso macaron I downed in two minutes.

What is pictured is my very simple and comfy outfit of the day. Like I said before, it was cold out. The snow had melted early in the day thanks to the sun, but it was still windy. So yes, the sunglasses and vest were both intentional and necessary.

I threw on a flannel and my comfiest booties and was ready to go. Definitely not the most stylish thing I’ve ever worn, but hey, this is real life, people.

Of course, no West Side Market outfit is complete without a tote bag to carry around all of your goodies in. For me, it was my “nasty woman” bag. Not only was it huge and perfect for holding my loot of veggies, but it made a statement too.

I’ve been working on making my wardrobe purposeful, and this bag does just that. It was a gift given to me by my mom, which makes it mean even more to me. Add to that that all the proceeds went to to Planned Parenthood, and you’ve got one seriously awesome tote.

Unfortunately, the bag was limited edition from Nasty Gal. It’s not available anymore, but there are plenty of other totes that benefit the organization.

We wrapped up the day with quick trip a glass blowing shop and a stop by a quirky-cool parking lot mural. All in all, it was a pretty great day. And yes, to answer your burning question, I do like beets.

What are your favorite farmer’s market finds? Let me know in the comments!

xx.

Leave a Reply

