How I Live Purposefully // New Year’s Resolution Check In

Recently I heard this crazy statistic that most people quit their New Year’s resolutions by the second week of February. Seeing as that date is getting pretty close, I thought it was the perfect time to check in with everyone. In case you haven’t been keeping up, my New Year’s resolution is to live purposefully. That means that I want to make everything I do, buy, eat, and wear matter.

I want my money, time, and attention to go to brands that I can support whole heartedly. I’m not going to lie, it’s a huge task. The trick is to take it little by little. In January, I decided to focus on fashion. That’s mainly because it’s a big part of my life, and what I invest most of my money into.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’m proud to say that I’ve stuck to my promise. I’ve bought three tops so far, and money from each of the purchases went to charity. [I’ll be doing a post on the exact items soon.] As exciting as it is to add new clothing to my closet, it’s even better knowing that I’m proud to wear and have them in my collection.

I’ve also cleaned out my closet this year as well. I gave some hand-me-downs to family and then donated the rest to GoodWill. So not only did I making more room for new items, I gave back as well. It feels good.

In February, I’m trying my best to tackle beauty. Since I write and test out so many brands during the week, I thought this would be tough. It turns out that it’s pretty fun. I love looking into which brands are great for my skin, the environment, and my wallet.

Processed with MOLDIV

A few things that I’ve learn so far is that 1] quality beauty items will cost you, 2] it’s easier than you think to find great beauty brands, and 3] be patient. Your skin isn’t going to like everything — no matter how natural it is. It’s going to take a while to figure out what works for you and your body.

Also, transitioning to an all-natural lifestyle takes a while. I know that I won’t knock out all of these categories [skincare, makeup, hair care] all in one month. It’s going to take time. But there’s no better feeling than falling in love with a brand. I’ve found some great ones so far, and I’ll be sharing them with you soon!

All in all, the journey to live a purposeful life has completely been worth it. Just remember that baby steps are still steps in the right direction.

xx.

Leave a Reply

