My Favorite Reads Of 2016

This year has been a crazy one. From the person to the political, I’ve escaped it all through books. I did a lot of reading this year, and I’m happy to say that a lot of the reads have been great ones. I’ve opened up my reading to include tons of different genres this year and pushed myself outside of my reading zone. Now I get to share some of the best ones with you!

I had a goal on GoodReads to read 30 books this year. And… drum roll, please… I did it! The year isn’t over yet, and I’ve already surpassed that by two books, which I’m pretty proud about. Next year, I’m going to shoot for 50. If you’re on GoodReads too, add me as a friend!

I’ve also been absolutely loving Book Of The Month. It makes it way easier to find books that you actually want to read. You get to pick one of five books every month, that gets sent straight to your door. This post isn’t sponsored, but if you buy through this referral code and use the code FRIEND50, you can get half off a three month subscription.

Here are some of the best books I’ve read this year:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mendel

stationeleven

I thought I’d start with an oldie, but a goodie. This came out in 2014, and I’ve read it every year since. After the world ends, you follow the journey of a Hollywood star and a group of actors around. It’s told from multiple perspectives that weave together seamlessly.

It’s one of those books that touches on everything from love to history to art in the most beautiful ways possible. Trust me when I say that you’ll want to re-read it as soon as it’s over. Don’t let the science-fiction aspect turn you away.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

couplenextdoor

When a couple goes next door for a dinner party and leaves their baby at home, they never thought that anything would happen. Now, with the child gone, they don’t know who or what to believe.

This book is addictive. I read it in one day, because I just couldn’t put it down. It will toy with your emotions up until the very last page.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

darkmatter

I’m obsessed with this book. The character wakes up in a world that he doesn’t know and desperately tires to find his way back. I don’t want to give too much away, so just trust me when I say that you’re going to love this read.

How To Be Parisian Wherever You Go by Anne Berest

howtobeparisian

Read this book slowly and drink up every single page. It’s witty, hilarious, and something you’ll want to come back to over and over again.

Filled with short stories and gorgeous art, you’ll want to display this quirky book after your done with it. Mine is housed on my makeup table, which is why it’s so dirty.

Devil In The White City by Erik Larson

devilinthewhitecity

Even if you’ve never read a historical non-fiction book in your entire life, you will love this book. Larson takes you through the 1893 World’s Fair through two completely different characters. The first is Daniel H. Burnham, who was the main architect behind the fair. The second is H.H. Holmes, a serial killer who pretends to be a doctor.

I won’t lie, it takes a while to get through, but it’s worth every second.

Harry Potter And The Cursed Child by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, and J.K. Rowling

harrypotter

Last year I finally made it a point to read the entire Harry Potter series. So when this one came out this year, I was pretty darn excited about it. I was so glad to be able to take one last adventure with the characters that I love so much. This book is the perfect ending to an already perfect series.

The Woman In Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

womanincabin10

After a woman hears her next door neighbor being thrown overboard on the cruise ship, she makes it her mission to find out what happened. Except no one on board wants her to know.

From the very first page to the very last, this book is full of surprises. You’ll want to stay up and read all night, but with all the lights on.

You can’t go wrong with any of these reads, in my opinion. Did I miss any that you loved this year? Leave your book recommendations below!

xx.

Leave a Reply

