Why I’m Thankful For My Gluten Allergy

This year has been filled with ups and downs. From career to lifestyle changes, I feel like everything has been thrown my way. But I refuse to dwell on it. While the year might have been filled with ups and down, I’m going to remember the highs and learn from the lows.

The most major, which you probably know from my recent posts, is my gluten allergy. It’s made me have to rethink my entire life and change everything from what I ate to the skincare items I used. Despite all the shock and hardships, it’s one of the things I’m thankful for most this year. I know, it seems kind of crazy, but here’s why I’m glad that it happened to me.

It forced me to change my diet.

How many times have you told yourself you’d make a change? Maybe stop eating so much fast food or add more veggies to your plate everyday. If you’re anything like me, you weren’t sticking to it for very long. Well, now I have to. Not only do I feel better physically and mentally because I found out that I was allergic to gluten, but I eat a lot less crap.

I feel great.

No more stomach pain. No more anxiety. Not a bad way to end my year.

My immune system has never been better.

Because I eat so healthy and take all of my vitamins, I get sick a whole lot less. While my entire family had the flu and sinus infections all throughout fall, I didn’t get hit one.

I’ve become closer to my family.

Despite the fact that I can barely eat anything that they do, I’ve gotten a whole lot closer to my family through this whole process. They always want to know what I’m eating or why I can’t have certain things. It’s a great feeling for them to want to know. I especially love getting recipes from my aunt (who is also gluten free) and when my mom goes out of her way to make something GF for dinner.

Trying new foods is fun.

When you can’t have a lot of normal, everyday food items, it’s fun exploring what you can have. Walking up and down the grocery store aisles has become one of my favorite things to do. The glass is always half full, my friends.

We now choose date nights wisely.

Before I had to worry about finding GF food, my boyfriend and I would just go out anywhere, grab something to eat, and head home. It always seemed like the same thing. Now we find other things to do, besides just going to grab something to eat. We carve pumpkins, have movie nights at home, or walk around a park. As much as it sucks not to be able to easily grab a meal (although we do have safe restaurants), we’ve been trying more new things. I love it.

I’ve met amazing people.

Since posting my GF lifestyle piece on this blog, so many people have contacted me. Whether they’re wanting to know more or handing me recipes, I couldn’t be more thankful for them. It doesn’t seem so bad when there are a bunch of people going through this with you.

Bottom line: going GF changed my life. At first, it was challenging, I won’t lie. It’s a complete lifestyle reboot. But now that I’ve gotten the hang of things, not to mention feel better than every, I would never go back.

Leave a Reply

