All About Oils

As I become familiarized with my new gluten-free lifestyle, I find the the more basic the better. The motto holds true for everything from food and drinks to hair and makeup. The less you have to check labels, the more time you have to live. It’s as simple as that.

From ingredients that seem healthy but aren’t to having to look for every possible form of gluten, label-checking becomes mentally and physically exhausting. Go ahead, just try it for a day, and you’ll see what I mean. Especially when it comes to health and beauty items. I want something that I can put on or in my body that I know is healthy for me and not packed with any harsh ingredients.

That’s where essential oils come into play. You know exactly what’s in them they can be added to anything from DIY face masks to right on the skin without having to worry about toxins or chemicals. Actually, they’ve been a total life saver to me. My oils journey started with diffusing different scents. I loved that they instantly boosted my mood and made my thinking so clear.

oils

I have a pretty big oil collection, but these are some of my favorites. You can probably tell from how beat up they are hehe.  Rose is so refreshing to me. I’ve found that my skin really likes it too. True Love (a blend of different mints) smell absolutely wonderful and really wakes me up during the day. All you do is add water to the diffuser (pictured behind the oils) and put a few drops in. It’s that easy!

Let me know in the comment section if you’d like me to do a post on my entire collection and how I use them. People don’t always realize how many ways there are to use oils.

Next came adding them to my beauty routine. I tried for so long to find a moisturizers, serums, and toners that were all natural. After weeks of searching, I realized that I could use oils instead. Now almost my entire skincare routine is back to the basics.

face

I have a full skincare routine coming, but these are some of my favorites. Josie Maran has a great line of skincare using Argan Oil. She whips, creams and leaves it natural to make for 100% safe products. I’ve also found a love for dry oils. I spray all over myself before a date night or special event. They dry super fast and leave the faintest smell that works well with my other scents.

The castor oil is perfect for growing out your eyelashes or brows, which is exactly what I’ve been using it for. I’ve also found a love for dry oils. I spray all over myself before a date night or special event. They dry super fast and leave the faintest smell that works well with my other scents.

Which brings me to perfume oils. I first heard about these after Kristen Bell said she wore them during a red carpet interview. Nemat’s ended up sending me a few of their oils, including the one Bell wears, and I’ve been obsessed ever since.

bigoil

The thing I love about these body oils are that they work with your body. I’ve always had a hard time finding the perfect scent for me. Either it’s too strong, the notes are too sweet, or they faded throughout the day. These are a blend of only one or two oils, so it’s easy to find ones that you love.

The also lasts days on the body, and I’m not exaggerating about that. Sometimes I’ll get out of a hot shower and still smell them on me, which I absolutely love.

Last, but definitely not least is coconut oil. This is pretty much my do-it-all oil on the list. I use coconut oil for everything — to heal my cuts, as a heavy moisturizer, and even to cook with. I use this instead of butter when I’m baking or making stir fry. It’s also a great coffee creamer as well.

coconut

Those are pretty much all my top oils of the moment. I can’t get over how easy they are to use. Honestly, the best way to get started is by playing around with them. You’ll find out what you and your skin like. The best part is that there’s nothing to be afraid of because they’re all-natural.

Do you have any favorite oils? Comment and leave some of your go-to oils or tips below. I’d love to add a few more to my list!

xx.

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

