Fall Thrift Haul & Living Purposefully

The end of the year is almost here. To say that I’ve had a rough one would be an understatement, but I’m ready to start fresh and start living the life that I am excited about. One of the ways I was to do that is by living purposefully. I want to make my purchases, food choices, and way of living help the most amount of people possible. So I figured I’d get a little practice in with this fall thrift haul.

Living purposefully is my New Year’s resolution. There will be a full post on that to come, but basically it’s all about making your life count in every way possible. So what better way to start than by doing a little shopping? Every single one of these outfits features piece that were gotten at local thrift shops, Good Will, and Salvation Army. The money goes towards small businesses and charitable companies, which, you guessed it, makes the purchase a little more purposeful.

I’m by no means a pro yet, but I thought this post could inspire you to get out and make your purchases matter too. Even if that just means taking the first step and browsing the store. Now let’s see if you can get which pieces are the ones that have been thrifted.

This on one of my favorite fall sweaters. The print on the sleeves, cut of the collar, and softness of the fabric is what drew me to this piece. If you haven’t already guessed, it’s thrifted. I spent all last year looking for the perfect turtleneck sweater, and surprisingly I found it at Good Will this season. The quirky metal earring are also from the thrift store. I’m a minimalist when it comes to clothing, but it gives every outfit a unique pop.

This one should be pretty easy to guess. The quarter-length sleeve and the belt are both from Good Will. Olive green is my go-to color in the fall, so  couldn’t pass it up. It’s a brand name label, but I snagged it at the thrift store. Basically it’s a win-win for me and the store. Not to mention this belt goes with everything and looks like it was barely worn.

This outfit is all about the dress, which was found at Good Will as well. I absolutely love the bell sleeves, effortless fabric, and cutout back. It’s the kind of piece that you can slip on quickly and look like you spent hours putting it together. I wore this exact look, with a few more non-thrifted accessories, to my boyfriend’s college football awards and got so many compliments. Little did they know that it was only three bucks.

This is the sweater I opt for when I have a lazy day of writing or reading. It’s not the most statement piece, but it fits me well and I love to snuggle up in it. Plus it was only 50 cents at Good Will, so you really can’t beat the purchase.

I’ve saved the best for last. The hat, shoes, and even the jeans are from the thrift store. I had to hem the jeans a few inches, but I couldn’t pass up the distressed, barely-worn Levi’s. The hat is from a mom and pop thrift store, while the other pieces are from Good Will. I paired it with a simple tee, because that’s just my style, but these accessories go with tons of different outfits.

Not too bad, right? I hope this inspired you to get out and find some unique pieces of your own that give back at the same time. Let me know in the comments if you want to see more thrift hauls. I love doing them!

xx.

Photo Credit: Chad West

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

