How I Learned To “Girl”

“Teach me how to girl,” my best friend said as she stood over my makeup table that housed everything from color correctors and concealers to lotions and liquid lipsticks.

Before we start, you should know that a year ago I knew nothing about makeup. I have always been interested in it as an art form, but I never could get it down myself. Growing up, makeup was never a huge deal in my house. That meant that when it came to growing up and learning my way around a makeup bag, I just kind of avoided it.

Makeup is pretty familiar to me now though. As a beauty writer and a self-proclaimed makeup experimenter, I’ve learned a thing or two and friends often ask me how to girl. Where did I learn from, you ask? YouTube. That’s right! Just like everything else in life, I learned everything I know from research and practice.

Jaclyn Hill, KathleenLights, and Tati Westbrook were my original guides. Of course, there are plenty of talented men on there as well. I’d sit there for hours and watch what brushes they used, what order they put it on, and what they recommended. It actually turned out to be something calming for me. I wasn’t so lost, since I had some experts to guide me around my local Ulta.

brushjerg

These vloggers taught me things that were way more important than just which foundations and eyeshadows to use. Yes, the beauty world is an intimidating one, but only until you learn the golden rule. There are no rules to makeup.

I know what you’re thinking, but it’s true! All three vloggers make it clear that what they say is just their honest opinion. It’s like asking your best friend how he or she applies her makeup. He or she might say they absolutely hate a product that you love. Bottom line, you never know until you try. And that’s why I think YouTube is so important.

You can find the a beauty vlogger with the same skin tone, sense of humor, and scent preferences as you. It’s like having a virtual friend that sends you advice multiple times per week. It doesn’t get better than that, guys!

table

 

So if you’re just starting off in the beauty world or are looking to get a little better at your technique, YouTube is the place for you. It might seem awkward at first, but I promise you it will pay off.

Of course, you can always just pick up a brush and see what happens too. There’s really no right or wrong way, as long as you feel comfortable in your own skin.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

