Hold On To Your Jitters

It’s the first day of school, and for the first time I’m not there. It didn’t bother me when everyone else was getting all packed up and driving away, but it finally hit me this morning. After sixteen long years of hard work and mild panic attacks, it’s all over.

No more late nights up studying or early mornings trying to finish that last minute assignment. I had jumped all the hoops and dotted all my “i”s and was finally on my way to something better. Gone are the days of having to feel out new teachers, stress over grades, and follow someone else’s rules. I am finally out and free to be whomever I want to be.

But as I laid in bed the night before everyone else went to start a new year, make new friends, and set out on new adventures, I couldn’t help but miss those first day jitters that I knew too well. There was no planner to organize, room to set up, or new year to start all over. Everything was staying the same for once. I looked forward to this day for so long, but now I didn’t know what to do with it.

How will I deal with it? By find something that gives me those first day jitters. I set the alarm for a 6am run, start a new blog, find a new class. Just because the cap and gown are in the closet and that little piece of paper is framed on the wall doesn’t mean that it’s too late to throw yourself wholeheartedly into a new project. It’s time to find something that gives you jitters, makes you nervous, intimidates you, and run full force into it.

This is the only life we have and it’s only the beginning. There is so much to be done, seen, and heard. The way I see it, you can either run from what you’re afraid of or you can stand up to it. Hold on to your jitters; they’re a sign that you’re doing something right with your life. You’re finally living instead of just being alive.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

